Customer reviews for AMD AMD FX 6300 Black Edition 3.5GHz Six-Core Socket AM3+ Boxed Processor

AMD AMD FX 6300 Black Edition 3.5GHz Six-Core Socket AM3+ Boxed Processor

Blow away the competition with the unrestrained power of an AMD FX Processor. Unlocked out of the box and competitively priced, AMD FX Processors give you more bang for the buck with aggressive performance and lightning-fast responsiveness. Get an extra burst of raw speed when you need it most with AMD Turbo CORE Technology.
Overall rating:
4.771 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(131 reviews) 131
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 131 reviews
5 Stars
107
4 Stars
20
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
120 out of 121(99%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
3 Questions | 9 Answers
Customer reviews for AMD FX 6300 Black Edition 3.5GHz Six-Core Socket AM3+ Boxed Processor
Review 1 for AMD FX 6300 Black Edition 3.5GHz Six-Core Socket AM3+ Boxed Processor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love the 6 core processors

PostedJanuary 25, 2015
Customer avatar
glbcrab
fromFlorida, USA
Age:Over 65
Gender:Male
This is my 4th AMD FX processor. They run very fast and cool, I use the fan that's supplied with the processor but I only use Artic Silver as the heat sink grease. I live in Fla and we try to not use the Air Conditioning unless it gets over 85 in the house. And these usually will run around 90 degrees F which is cool, Down here the laptops run at 134 degrees.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for AMD FX 6300 Black Edition 3.5GHz Six-Core Socket AM3+ Boxed Processor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Overall, great case for a great price

PostedJanuary 24, 2015
Customer avatar
Primetimelime
With its ability to add several more cases, this case offers great cooling as well as plenty of internal space. Keeps my entire system cool with the two stock system fans, and has enough space to keep my Gigabyte 970G1 without hitting any of the bays.
Only complaints would be that attaching an ssd to the bay feels loose, like it would pop off with slight movement. Also, not a lot of space between the back panel for wiring.
Would definitely recommend to friends.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for AMD FX 6300 Black Edition 3.5GHz Six-Core Socket AM3+ Boxed Processor
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Working really well no problems.

PostedJanuary 23, 2015
Customer avatar
Brad96
Age:18-24
Gender:Male
The only problem was i bought a fan and its was broken in the case.
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for AMD FX 6300 Black Edition 3.5GHz Six-Core Socket AM3+ Boxed Processor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent budget AM3+ processor for everyday use or gaming

PostedJanuary 20, 2015
Customer avatar
laday2
fromHighlands Ranch, Co
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
AMD has unbeatable price/performance value in their low-mid end processors, and this FX CPU fits the bill perfect for entry level gaming machines. With proper cooling and the right board, these can easily be overclocked. I've built a couple dozen computers around this processor, and not had one be DOA or fail, great job AMD
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for AMD FX 6300 Black Edition 3.5GHz Six-Core Socket AM3+ Boxed Processor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Bang for the Buck

PostedJanuary 15, 2015
Customer avatar
nmmnp
fromWest Bloomfield Township, MI, USA
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Great price for a 6 core processor and with a mobo bundle it's a great low cost solution with lots of power.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for AMD FX 6300 Black Edition 3.5GHz Six-Core Socket AM3+ Boxed Processor
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

works well

PostedJanuary 13, 2015
Customer avatar
ZigL
fromNewton, MA
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
easily installed... runs fine.
Though I wish it had come with a small tube of heat sink compound.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for AMD FX 6300 Black Edition 3.5GHz Six-Core Socket AM3+ Boxed Processor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for the budget build

PostedJanuary 7, 2015
Customer avatar
Wildfire619
Used the FX 6300 Black Edition to build a couple low budget performance builds under $600. It's very affordable with the awesome motherboard+CPU combo's that Microcenter has and definitely gets the job done. It's my go to for tight budgets.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for AMD FX 6300 Black Edition 3.5GHz Six-Core Socket AM3+ Boxed Processor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Cool with Cooler Master 212 EVO for the perfect mid-level gaming experience!

PostedDecember 30, 2014
Customer avatar
hahnz422
fromDetroit, MI, USA
Age:18-24
Gender:Male
Upgraded to AMD from an old i3-540 CPU from 5 years ago. Was skeptical switching to AMD as I had never used it, but I needed to build two computers and was on a tight budget. With the $50 off a motherboard deal for $95 each I was able to get the CPU and a motherboard which is why I chose this CPU. So far I am extremely satisfied with this CPU as it is 4 times as fast as my last CPU. It is blowing games out of the water, even with my old MSI 460 graphics card.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for AMD FX 6300 Black Edition 3.5GHz Six-Core Socket AM3+ Boxed Processor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

fast unlocked processor

PostedDecember 17, 2014
Customer avatar
kcsanta
fromKansas City, MO, USA
Gender:Male
AMD has always worked well for me. My motherboard allows auto clocking on the CPU so I can get faster processing times.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for AMD FX 6300 Black Edition 3.5GHz Six-Core Socket AM3+ Boxed Processor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Vishera = REAL FX

PostedDecember 8, 2014
Customer avatar
kidman2505
fromPontiac, MI, USA
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
The Piledriver micro architecture is the successor of the Bulldozer architecture that brought integer cores back to the forefront. AMD has always looked beyond today's trends or needs. The innovations they've brought about have been very important to the x86 industry. What they might lack that Intel excels at, they make up for in features combined with undeniable great value.
Many AMD fans might cringe a bit at the mention of Intel beating AMD in some areas, but rest assured, I'm not bashing. Here's why..
I feel that as a game streamer, AMD is thee way to go. The 8 cores shine brightly here, the work load is just that well distributed, with the modules/integer cores having great speed, along with a great cache, we see better performance while streaming in comparison to even some of the higher end Intel parts.
For under 100 bucks you get an FX-6300 6 core chip that'll run games VERY comfortably with a 150-170 dollar card, while also having enough "OOMPH" to have music playing in the background, webcam rolling, and record quality video LOCALLY at a moments notice, without hiccups.
Streaming gameplay has become a very popular hobby/business for more and more gamers as the days go by. Extra money saved here can be spent on a few other things a streamer would love to have. A quality ethernet card, good microphone and sound card.
This is also very easily overclocked to 4ghz daily driver mode. Set it and forget it.
I've been very impressed with the remakes. The Vishera is perhaps what AMD wanted the modern FX series of chips to be from the start.
It's a great value, especially under a 100 bucks, with a combo you end up with a board and chip for under 120, simply stellar.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for AMD FX 6300 Black Edition 3.5GHz Six-Core Socket AM3+ Boxed Processor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Runs Dragon Age: Inquisition beautifully

PostedDecember 5, 2014
Customer avatar
dhkeller
I upgraded from an AMD phenom II 4 core CPU and have had noticeable improvement in game frame rates, etc. I bought this specifically to play Dragon Age: Inquisition and it runs beautifully on high and ultra settings with this and my EVGA GTX 660.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for AMD FX 6300 Black Edition 3.5GHz Six-Core Socket AM3+ Boxed Processor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fast and cheap, can be overclocked if you're into that.

PostedDecember 3, 2014
Customer avatar
Alan H.
fromBolingbrook, IL
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Very fast CPU for everyday operations and medium gaming if you add a decent sub-$100 video card. Runs Windows quick and apps like Photoshop run great.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for AMD FX 6300 Black Edition 3.5GHz Six-Core Socket AM3+ Boxed Processor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The best for budget-conscious users

PostedNovember 25, 2014
Customer avatar
litoxcas
fromWashington, DC, USA
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
I purchased this CPU with a Gigabyte GA-970A-UD3 ATX AM3+ mobo as part of an upgrade for one of my PCs. CPU included a heatsink fan, with thermal paste applied from the factory. I added my own thermal paste just in case. Runs very cool, mid 20s, low 30s on idle. This CPU performs well and does not break your bank.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for AMD FX 6300 Black Edition 3.5GHz Six-Core Socket AM3+ Boxed Processor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

FX-6300

PostedNovember 22, 2014
Customer avatar
Michael Gavlick
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Pros: It runs at 4Ghz on stock cooling.
Cons: None
Best core per buck and then some.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for AMD FX 6300 Black Edition 3.5GHz Six-Core Socket AM3+ Boxed Processor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Yay

PostedNovember 19, 2014
Customer avatar
tgiby3
This processor produces rays of happiness into your motherboard
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for AMD FX 6300 Black Edition 3.5GHz Six-Core Socket AM3+ Boxed Processor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Performance for the Dollar

PostedNovember 13, 2014
Customer avatar
sohosources
fromMN
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
I paired my FX-6300 with a Gigabyte GA-78LMT-USB3 motherboard as part of a MC bundle. Together, the pair makes for an unbeatable value.
The '6300 overclocks nicely and provides 50-60% of "top of the line" performance at a fraction of the price (especially when purchased at MC).
The FX-8320, especially if it's included in a MC bundle, may be an even better deal.
Thanks, MC!
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for AMD FX 6300 Black Edition 3.5GHz Six-Core Socket AM3+ Boxed Processor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The best bang for the buck!

PostedNovember 11, 2014
Customer avatar
saljaimes
fromIrvine, CA, USA
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
I could not decide on whether to get the AMD FX-6300 or the AMD FX-8320. I decided to go with the FX-6300 and do not regret it. It is extremely fast and it meets my needs. On top of that, I will be overclocking it to surpass 4 ghz speeds once I am comfortable doing so. I would highly recommend this cpu to anyone building a new computer because it is less expensive and the difference in performance loss is minimal on day-to-day use.
 
Products related to my review
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for AMD FX 6300 Black Edition 3.5GHz Six-Core Socket AM3+ Boxed Processor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

SIX CORE PROCESOR

PostedNovember 8, 2014
Customer avatar
John Dundalk
fromjohn
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
This is my third system build with this processor.
The AMD FX6300 3.5ghz processor is a great processor at a great price. If I had the cash I'd buy 10 of them for future builds.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for AMD FX 6300 Black Edition 3.5GHz Six-Core Socket AM3+ Boxed Processor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great processor for the price

PostedNovember 4, 2014
Customer avatar
bencerda1
fromDelaware, OH, USA
Age:Under 18
Gender:Male
This processor was a great buy especially for the price that I obtained it for. Runs very well and runs much cooler than expected. If you are looking for a great processor for the price, then get this. PS: This processor is compatible with any AM3+ and AM3 Sockets. Double check your motherboards power limitations and processor compatibility before purchasing.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for AMD FX 6300 Black Edition 3.5GHz Six-Core Socket AM3+ Boxed Processor
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

good processor.

PostedOctober 30, 2014
Customer avatar
jbjwes
fromWoodridge,ill
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
The amd processor is very good for the price. It sort slow what I need but the price is right.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 7 next>>