Customer reviews for AMD AMD FX 6300 Black Edition 3.5GHz Six-Core Socket AM3+ Boxed Processor

AMD AMD FX 6300 Black Edition 3.5GHz Six-Core Socket AM3+ Boxed Processor

Blow away the competition with the unrestrained power of an AMD FX Processor. Unlocked out of the box and competitively priced, AMD FX Processors give you more bang for the buck with aggressive performance and lightning-fast responsiveness. Get an extra burst of raw speed when you need it most with AMD Turbo CORE Technology.
Overall rating:
4.774 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(146 reviews) 146
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 146 reviews
5 Stars
119
4 Stars
23
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
135 out of 136(99%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
4 Questions | 10 Answers
Customer reviews for AMD FX 6300 Black Edition 3.5GHz Six-Core Socket AM3+ Boxed Processor
Review 1 for AMD FX 6300 Black Edition 3.5GHz Six-Core Socket AM3+ Boxed Processor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great cpu for the money

PostedMay 19, 2015
Customer avatar
illiterate
fromRiverside, CA, USA
Gender:Male
I am usually an intel builder only but this time with a move and everything else I had to build a budget gaming machine. This is a great cpu for gaming. Great performance at low temperatures.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for AMD FX 6300 Black Edition 3.5GHz Six-Core Socket AM3+ Boxed Processor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

runs very well

PostedMay 14, 2015
Customer avatar
Vecna216
fromDurant, OK, USA
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Used to upgrade my phenom 6 core works much faster and cooler
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for AMD FX 6300 Black Edition 3.5GHz Six-Core Socket AM3+ Boxed Processor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great bag for your buck

PostedMay 12, 2015
Customer avatar
rgd
fromrgd
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
this chip is very good 6 core chip. I do use it for gaming. have it on an AMD saber tooth 990 FX motherboard running with a XFX R9 28ox black edition graphics card 24 gigs of Gskill memory 2400 speed . a Samsung 250 gig drive with a 650 gig WD velocity raptor 10,000 rpm drive as storage and a cooler Master 800 watt pro power supply. this chip handles what ever I through at it and for the price heck you cant beat it.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for AMD FX 6300 Black Edition 3.5GHz Six-Core Socket AM3+ Boxed Processor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Solid fast processor

PostedApril 26, 2015
Customer avatar
Mike Cole
fromIndependence, MO
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Micro Center had a good deal on this processor, and TomsHardware recommends the 6300 so I got it. No regrets, it is a solid performer and fast.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for AMD FX 6300 Black Edition 3.5GHz Six-Core Socket AM3+ Boxed Processor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fast, efficient and a great price.

PostedApril 23, 2015
Customer avatar
Mike_L
fromSouthern MN
Age:55-64
I've built several PC's with this CPU and it works super. The Micro Center combo purchase includes both mainboard and CPU at an unbelievable price. Add an SSD system drive and it responds ultra fast. Can't do better for the money.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for AMD FX 6300 Black Edition 3.5GHz Six-Core Socket AM3+ Boxed Processor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect balance of price and performance.

PostedApril 22, 2015
Customer avatar
Neppo1345
fromSt. Louis
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Was upgrading a machine to use for medium duty gaming and 3d CAD and didn't want to break the bank. This processor provides the right balance of speed and cores to prevent a processing bottleneck without breaking the bank.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for AMD FX 6300 Black Edition 3.5GHz Six-Core Socket AM3+ Boxed Processor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

It will get the job done

PostedApril 21, 2015
Customer avatar
Doubting Thomas
fromOhio
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Easy to overclock, it's stable, and it's inexpensive. With Micro Center's bundle deals, you can get this with a free motherboard- an excellent choice for upgrading an older desktop, or a building a budget gaming rig.
AMDs tend to run a little warm, so think about ugrading to a better CPU cooler. If you plan on overclocking, it is definitely a good idea.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for AMD FX 6300 Black Edition 3.5GHz Six-Core Socket AM3+ Boxed Processor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best bang for the buck!

PostedApril 7, 2015
Customer avatar
Anonymous
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Installed this into my wife's computer. She plays games, watches movies, listens to music. No stability issues at all and it performs well. Excellent CPU for the money.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for AMD FX 6300 Black Edition 3.5GHz Six-Core Socket AM3+ Boxed Processor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Quick and reliable

PostedMarch 25, 2015
Customer avatar
Ravin
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
So I bought this processor for my brother's computer, expecting moderate increase in performance. I was blown away! For how cheap this processor is, it's an awesome one. I have no problems multitasking with this processor and no matter how many programs and windows I have open this thing doesn't slow down. I would highly recommend this product to anyone looking for serious speed gains!
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for AMD FX 6300 Black Edition 3.5GHz Six-Core Socket AM3+ Boxed Processor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

beast cpu

PostedFebruary 28, 2015
Customer avatar
ribeye007
fromFort Thomas, KY, USA
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
6 cores well think that about does it really fast cpu have a 7850k cant wait to see if this is as good
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for AMD FX 6300 Black Edition 3.5GHz Six-Core Socket AM3+ Boxed Processor
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great little processor, a lot of bang for the buck

PostedFebruary 24, 2015
Customer avatar
mchiesi
fromKCMO
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
These FX 6300's come highly rated compared to the other similar systems (vs 4300's and 8300's and so on).
On one build, I was able to OC to 4.4GZ on all 6 cores, and that's just using air cooling (Cooler Master 212 EVO is awesome). Could have gone higher with liquid, but I don't care that much. I seriously got it to 4.4 without getting into the 70's (C) under stress so I was very happy about that.
On the flip side, if you are not Overclocking, compared to everything in its price range, I have no idea why anyone would prefer a much slower duo core Intel. Some things Intel does way better than AMD, but the price point here is worth talking about.
Don't expect too awful much, these were designed to compete with Intel Duo Cores, but I feel like I got a lot of bang for my buck, especially after I overclocked.
I have used it in my first build (OC'd to 4.4Ghz with a third party air cooler mentioned above) and with the computer I built for my two kids for minecraft, lego minifigures online, etc.
If you have a lot of money to spend on a processor, look at intel, but if you're looking for good performance and on a budget, this is pretty good.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for AMD FX 6300 Black Edition 3.5GHz Six-Core Socket AM3+ Boxed Processor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I bought two

PostedFebruary 14, 2015
Customer avatar
amlee
fromNew York
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
No issues at all. Using aftermarket coolers. Too lazy to try overclocking yet.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for AMD FX 6300 Black Edition 3.5GHz Six-Core Socket AM3+ Boxed Processor
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

As Advertised

PostedJanuary 31, 2015
Customer avatar
DanwhydoIneedadisplayname
fromSt. Louis
Gender:Male
Great value at under a $100, I get a 7.4 Windows 7 experience processor score with this. I have not tried overclocking, but have had no issues gaming or other tasks.
The temperature readings on it vary from 48*F up thru 69*F every second or so (ambient room temp is around 72*F) - so that is strange, right? I've read that AMD chips don't measure temp well when below 80*F or so, which I wouldn't care about so much but it makes the fan cycle up and down a lot.
Other than that, it was as expected.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for AMD FX 6300 Black Edition 3.5GHz Six-Core Socket AM3+ Boxed Processor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Exactly what I needed

PostedJanuary 30, 2015
Customer avatar
Ntotheizzo
fromKansas City, KS
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Had some spare parts lying around and my wife needed a computer. Was able to get this processor and motherboard at an amazing prices. Her computer now runs on par with mine. Happy wife, happy life.
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for AMD FX 6300 Black Edition 3.5GHz Six-Core Socket AM3+ Boxed Processor
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice chip!

PostedJanuary 30, 2015
Customer avatar
jttavares
fromBaltimore, MD
Age:18-24
Gender:Male
Great CPU, used this in a multimedia/video editing build. If you are looking for a good gaming CPU, you want to go with one of the Intel i3's or i5's for maximum performance, but this CPU will still work really well.
That said, the cooler is horribly noisy and inefficient, you will want an aftermarket cooler. Additionally, this socket is EOL, so take that into consideration.
-1 star for the cooler
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for AMD FX 6300 Black Edition 3.5GHz Six-Core Socket AM3+ Boxed Processor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love the 6 core processors

PostedJanuary 25, 2015
Customer avatar
glbcrab
fromFlorida, USA
Age:Over 65
Gender:Male
This is my 4th AMD FX processor. They run very fast and cool, I use the fan that's supplied with the processor but I only use Artic Silver as the heat sink grease. I live in Fla and we try to not use the Air Conditioning unless it gets over 85 in the house. And these usually will run around 90 degrees F which is cool, Down here the laptops run at 134 degrees.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for AMD FX 6300 Black Edition 3.5GHz Six-Core Socket AM3+ Boxed Processor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Overall, great case for a great price

PostedJanuary 24, 2015
Customer avatar
Primetimelime
With its ability to add several more cases, this case offers great cooling as well as plenty of internal space. Keeps my entire system cool with the two stock system fans, and has enough space to keep my Gigabyte 970G1 without hitting any of the bays.
Only complaints would be that attaching an ssd to the bay feels loose, like it would pop off with slight movement. Also, not a lot of space between the back panel for wiring.
Would definitely recommend to friends.
-4points
0of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for AMD FX 6300 Black Edition 3.5GHz Six-Core Socket AM3+ Boxed Processor
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Working really well no problems.

PostedJanuary 23, 2015
Customer avatar
Brad96
Age:18-24
Gender:Male
The only problem was i bought a fan and its was broken in the case.
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for AMD FX 6300 Black Edition 3.5GHz Six-Core Socket AM3+ Boxed Processor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent budget AM3+ processor for everyday use or gaming

PostedJanuary 20, 2015
Customer avatar
laday2
fromHighlands Ranch, Co
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
AMD has unbeatable price/performance value in their low-mid end processors, and this FX CPU fits the bill perfect for entry level gaming machines. With proper cooling and the right board, these can easily be overclocked. I've built a couple dozen computers around this processor, and not had one be DOA or fail, great job AMD
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for AMD FX 6300 Black Edition 3.5GHz Six-Core Socket AM3+ Boxed Processor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Bang for the Buck

PostedJanuary 15, 2015
Customer avatar
nmmnp
fromWest Bloomfield Township, MI, USA
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Great price for a 6 core processor and with a mobo bundle it's a great low cost solution with lots of power.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 8 next>>