Customer reviews for AMD AMD FX 6300 Black Edition 3.5GHz Six-Core Socket AM3+ Boxed Processor

AMD AMD FX 6300 Black Edition 3.5GHz Six-Core Socket AM3+ Boxed Processor

Blow away the competition with the unrestrained power of an AMD FX Processor. Unlocked out of the box and competitively priced, AMD FX Processors give you more bang for the buck with aggressive performance and lightning-fast responsiveness. Get an extra burst of raw speed when you need it most with AMD Turbo CORE Technology.
Overall rating:
4.763 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(139 reviews) 139
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 139 reviews
5 Stars
112
4 Stars
23
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
128 out of 129(99%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
4 Questions | 10 Answers
Customer reviews for AMD FX 6300 Black Edition 3.5GHz Six-Core Socket AM3+ Boxed Processor
Review 1 for AMD FX 6300 Black Edition 3.5GHz Six-Core Socket AM3+ Boxed Processor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best bang for the buck!

PostedApril 7, 2015
Customer avatar
Anonymous
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Installed this into my wife's computer. She plays games, watches movies, listens to music. No stability issues at all and it performs well. Excellent CPU for the money.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for AMD FX 6300 Black Edition 3.5GHz Six-Core Socket AM3+ Boxed Processor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Quick and reliable

PostedMarch 25, 2015
Customer avatar
Ravin
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
So I bought this processor for my brother's computer, expecting moderate increase in performance. I was blown away! For how cheap this processor is, it's an awesome one. I have no problems multitasking with this processor and no matter how many programs and windows I have open this thing doesn't slow down. I would highly recommend this product to anyone looking for serious speed gains!
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for AMD FX 6300 Black Edition 3.5GHz Six-Core Socket AM3+ Boxed Processor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

beast cpu

PostedFebruary 28, 2015
Customer avatar
ribeye007
fromFort Thomas, KY, USA
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
6 cores well think that about does it really fast cpu have a 7850k cant wait to see if this is as good
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for AMD FX 6300 Black Edition 3.5GHz Six-Core Socket AM3+ Boxed Processor
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great little processor, a lot of bang for the buck

PostedFebruary 24, 2015
Customer avatar
mchiesi
fromKCMO
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
These FX 6300's come highly rated compared to the other similar systems (vs 4300's and 8300's and so on).
On one build, I was able to OC to 4.4GZ on all 6 cores, and that's just using air cooling (Cooler Master 212 EVO is awesome). Could have gone higher with liquid, but I don't care that much. I seriously got it to 4.4 without getting into the 70's (C) under stress so I was very happy about that.
On the flip side, if you are not Overclocking, compared to everything in its price range, I have no idea why anyone would prefer a much slower duo core Intel. Some things Intel does way better than AMD, but the price point here is worth talking about.
Don't expect too awful much, these were designed to compete with Intel Duo Cores, but I feel like I got a lot of bang for my buck, especially after I overclocked.
I have used it in my first build (OC'd to 4.4Ghz with a third party air cooler mentioned above) and with the computer I built for my two kids for minecraft, lego minifigures online, etc.
If you have a lot of money to spend on a processor, look at intel, but if you're looking for good performance and on a budget, this is pretty good.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for AMD FX 6300 Black Edition 3.5GHz Six-Core Socket AM3+ Boxed Processor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I bought two

PostedFebruary 14, 2015
Customer avatar
amlee
fromNew York
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
No issues at all. Using aftermarket coolers. Too lazy to try overclocking yet.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for AMD FX 6300 Black Edition 3.5GHz Six-Core Socket AM3+ Boxed Processor
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

As Advertised

PostedJanuary 31, 2015
Customer avatar
DanwhydoIneedadisplayname
fromSt. Louis
Gender:Male
Great value at under a $100, I get a 7.4 Windows 7 experience processor score with this. I have not tried overclocking, but have had no issues gaming or other tasks.
The temperature readings on it vary from 48*F up thru 69*F every second or so (ambient room temp is around 72*F) - so that is strange, right? I've read that AMD chips don't measure temp well when below 80*F or so, which I wouldn't care about so much but it makes the fan cycle up and down a lot.
Other than that, it was as expected.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for AMD FX 6300 Black Edition 3.5GHz Six-Core Socket AM3+ Boxed Processor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Exactly what I needed

PostedJanuary 30, 2015
Customer avatar
Ntotheizzo
fromKansas City, KS
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Had some spare parts lying around and my wife needed a computer. Was able to get this processor and motherboard at an amazing prices. Her computer now runs on par with mine. Happy wife, happy life.
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for AMD FX 6300 Black Edition 3.5GHz Six-Core Socket AM3+ Boxed Processor
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice chip!

PostedJanuary 30, 2015
Customer avatar
jttavares
fromBaltimore, MD
Age:18-24
Gender:Male
Great CPU, used this in a multimedia/video editing build. If you are looking for a good gaming CPU, you want to go with one of the Intel i3's or i5's for maximum performance, but this CPU will still work really well.
That said, the cooler is horribly noisy and inefficient, you will want an aftermarket cooler. Additionally, this socket is EOL, so take that into consideration.
-1 star for the cooler
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for AMD FX 6300 Black Edition 3.5GHz Six-Core Socket AM3+ Boxed Processor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love the 6 core processors

PostedJanuary 25, 2015
Customer avatar
glbcrab
fromFlorida, USA
Age:Over 65
Gender:Male
This is my 4th AMD FX processor. They run very fast and cool, I use the fan that's supplied with the processor but I only use Artic Silver as the heat sink grease. I live in Fla and we try to not use the Air Conditioning unless it gets over 85 in the house. And these usually will run around 90 degrees F which is cool, Down here the laptops run at 134 degrees.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for AMD FX 6300 Black Edition 3.5GHz Six-Core Socket AM3+ Boxed Processor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Overall, great case for a great price

PostedJanuary 24, 2015
Customer avatar
Primetimelime
With its ability to add several more cases, this case offers great cooling as well as plenty of internal space. Keeps my entire system cool with the two stock system fans, and has enough space to keep my Gigabyte 970G1 without hitting any of the bays.
Only complaints would be that attaching an ssd to the bay feels loose, like it would pop off with slight movement. Also, not a lot of space between the back panel for wiring.
Would definitely recommend to friends.
-4points
0of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for AMD FX 6300 Black Edition 3.5GHz Six-Core Socket AM3+ Boxed Processor
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Working really well no problems.

PostedJanuary 23, 2015
Customer avatar
Brad96
Age:18-24
Gender:Male
The only problem was i bought a fan and its was broken in the case.
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for AMD FX 6300 Black Edition 3.5GHz Six-Core Socket AM3+ Boxed Processor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent budget AM3+ processor for everyday use or gaming

PostedJanuary 20, 2015
Customer avatar
laday2
fromHighlands Ranch, Co
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
AMD has unbeatable price/performance value in their low-mid end processors, and this FX CPU fits the bill perfect for entry level gaming machines. With proper cooling and the right board, these can easily be overclocked. I've built a couple dozen computers around this processor, and not had one be DOA or fail, great job AMD
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for AMD FX 6300 Black Edition 3.5GHz Six-Core Socket AM3+ Boxed Processor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Bang for the Buck

PostedJanuary 15, 2015
Customer avatar
nmmnp
fromWest Bloomfield Township, MI, USA
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Great price for a 6 core processor and with a mobo bundle it's a great low cost solution with lots of power.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for AMD FX 6300 Black Edition 3.5GHz Six-Core Socket AM3+ Boxed Processor
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

works well

PostedJanuary 13, 2015
Customer avatar
ZigL
fromNewton, MA
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
easily installed... runs fine.
Though I wish it had come with a small tube of heat sink compound.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for AMD FX 6300 Black Edition 3.5GHz Six-Core Socket AM3+ Boxed Processor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for the budget build

PostedJanuary 7, 2015
Customer avatar
Wildfire619
Used the FX 6300 Black Edition to build a couple low budget performance builds under $600. It's very affordable with the awesome motherboard+CPU combo's that Microcenter has and definitely gets the job done. It's my go to for tight budgets.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for AMD FX 6300 Black Edition 3.5GHz Six-Core Socket AM3+ Boxed Processor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Cool with Cooler Master 212 EVO for the perfect mid-level gaming experience!

PostedDecember 30, 2014
Customer avatar
hahnz422
fromDetroit, MI, USA
Age:18-24
Gender:Male
Upgraded to AMD from an old i3-540 CPU from 5 years ago. Was skeptical switching to AMD as I had never used it, but I needed to build two computers and was on a tight budget. With the $50 off a motherboard deal for $95 each I was able to get the CPU and a motherboard which is why I chose this CPU. So far I am extremely satisfied with this CPU as it is 4 times as fast as my last CPU. It is blowing games out of the water, even with my old MSI 460 graphics card.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for AMD FX 6300 Black Edition 3.5GHz Six-Core Socket AM3+ Boxed Processor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

fast unlocked processor

PostedDecember 17, 2014
Customer avatar
kcsanta
fromKansas City, MO, USA
Gender:Male
AMD has always worked well for me. My motherboard allows auto clocking on the CPU so I can get faster processing times.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for AMD FX 6300 Black Edition 3.5GHz Six-Core Socket AM3+ Boxed Processor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Vishera = REAL FX

PostedDecember 8, 2014
Customer avatar
kidman2505
fromPontiac, MI, USA
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
The Piledriver micro architecture is the successor of the Bulldozer architecture that brought integer cores back to the forefront. AMD has always looked beyond today's trends or needs. The innovations they've brought about have been very important to the x86 industry. What they might lack that Intel excels at, they make up for in features combined with undeniable great value.
Many AMD fans might cringe a bit at the mention of Intel beating AMD in some areas, but rest assured, I'm not bashing. Here's why..
I feel that as a game streamer, AMD is thee way to go. The 8 cores shine brightly here, the work load is just that well distributed, with the modules/integer cores having great speed, along with a great cache, we see better performance while streaming in comparison to even some of the higher end Intel parts.
For under 100 bucks you get an FX-6300 6 core chip that'll run games VERY comfortably with a 150-170 dollar card, while also having enough "OOMPH" to have music playing in the background, webcam rolling, and record quality video LOCALLY at a moments notice, without hiccups.
Streaming gameplay has become a very popular hobby/business for more and more gamers as the days go by. Extra money saved here can be spent on a few other things a streamer would love to have. A quality ethernet card, good microphone and sound card.
This is also very easily overclocked to 4ghz daily driver mode. Set it and forget it.
I've been very impressed with the remakes. The Vishera is perhaps what AMD wanted the modern FX series of chips to be from the start.
It's a great value, especially under a 100 bucks, with a combo you end up with a board and chip for under 120, simply stellar.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for AMD FX 6300 Black Edition 3.5GHz Six-Core Socket AM3+ Boxed Processor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Runs Dragon Age: Inquisition beautifully

PostedDecember 5, 2014
Customer avatar
dhkeller
I upgraded from an AMD phenom II 4 core CPU and have had noticeable improvement in game frame rates, etc. I bought this specifically to play Dragon Age: Inquisition and it runs beautifully on high and ultra settings with this and my EVGA GTX 660.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for AMD FX 6300 Black Edition 3.5GHz Six-Core Socket AM3+ Boxed Processor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fast and cheap, can be overclocked if you're into that.

PostedDecember 3, 2014
Customer avatar
Alan H.
fromBolingbrook, IL
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Very fast CPU for everyday operations and medium gaming if you add a decent sub-$100 video card. Runs Windows quick and apps like Photoshop run great.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 7 next>>