Customer reviews for AMD AMD FX 6300 Black Edition 3.5GHz Six-Core Socket AM3+ Boxed Processor

AMD AMD FX 6300 Black Edition 3.5GHz Six-Core Socket AM3+ Boxed Processor

Blow away the competition with the unrestrained power of an AMD FX Processor. Unlocked out of the box and competitively priced, AMD FX Processors give you more bang for the buck with aggressive performance and lightning-fast responsiveness. Get an extra burst of raw speed when you need it most with AMD Turbo CORE Technology.
Overall rating:
4.787 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(155 reviews) 155
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 155 reviews
5 Stars
128
4 Stars
23
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
144 out of 145(99%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
5 Questions | 14 Answers
Customer reviews for AMD FX 6300 Black Edition 3.5GHz Six-Core Socket AM3+ Boxed Processor
Review 1 for AMD FX 6300 Black Edition 3.5GHz Six-Core Socket AM3+ Boxed Processor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

For the money its excellent.

PostedAugust 26, 2015
Customer avatar
fromSanta Ana, CA, USA
Gender:Male
I purchased this CPU with the ASRock 970M pro MATX board and have been very pleased with the results. I am using a Thermaltake Frio cooler and so far have the CPU running at 4.4ghz with zero VRM throttling. while the VRMs do run almost hot I suspect once I get a different cooler something like the CM Gemini that blows air downward across the motherboard it will cool those heat-sinks a lot better. Very hard to beat for a 115$ with a 970 based motherboard. With my below config I am able to play GTA V and Witcher 3 at 2560x1440p with mostly highest settings at 60FPS.
Rest of the sytem is as follows
8GB DDR3 2400 EVGA memory
Gigabyte R9 290X windforce
512GB plextor SSD
Corsair AX 1200 PSU (Total overkill but I got it for 109 so I figured why not.)
Thermaltake V21 MATX Cube case.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for AMD FX 6300 Black Edition 3.5GHz Six-Core Socket AM3+ Boxed Processor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best deal in the industry

PostedAugust 18, 2015
Customer avatar
fromMN
I can't even count how many machines I've built with these processors - they're mind-bendingly cheap, and the performance is through the roof. Paired with a decent video card, they make for awesome gaming rigs, and otherwise they are stellar for absolutely any other purpose. Unless you have an application for which you won't notice a difference using a dual-core or quad-core, for which there honestly are many (like just a basic email-and-internet computer), and you can get such a CPU for less than this, you're kind of a dope if you buy anything else. It turbos up to 4.1Ghz when something intensive is happening, and unless you're vapid enough to just want to run benchmarks all day, the actual subjective performance of your machine - all other factors held constant - will be the same with this CPU vs. one from Intel that costs 5 times more.
Yes, the APU-style processors include better on-chip video processing capabilities - but if you're not looking for a gaming rig or content creation workstation, you wouldn't notice the difference over the Radeon 3000 or 4250-style graphics that would come on an appropriate motherboard for this CPU. And if you were a gamer/creator, you'd want a dedicated video card anyway.
There's just no way to lose with this CPU. And if you're being rational about it, it's hard to argue that there'd be a "win" with any other CPU. This is the ultimate in price/performance.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for AMD FX 6300 Black Edition 3.5GHz Six-Core Socket AM3+ Boxed Processor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Processor

PostedAugust 6, 2015
Customer avatar
fromJohns Creek, GA, USA
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
This is an excellent processor. It is a bargain for the price. Fast, fully compatible, no issues at all. The heat sink and fan mount is much better than any Intel Processor. The price is awesome.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for AMD FX 6300 Black Edition 3.5GHz Six-Core Socket AM3+ Boxed Processor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Budget build? Then here's the processor for it!

PostedJuly 30, 2015
Customer avatar
fromSaint Paul, MN, USA
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
You know what? This wasn't a bad processor at all. Love the price!
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for AMD FX 6300 Black Edition 3.5GHz Six-Core Socket AM3+ Boxed Processor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Bang for the Buck IMO

PostedJuly 23, 2015
Customer avatar
fromWeirton, WV, USA
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Handles everyday tasks and gaming without complaint. Only 95 watt TDP. Good price ratio per core. My Phenom II X6 is a little more powerful, but try finding one of those at a reasonable price anywhere today.
Most modern software chugs along easily with 4 cores, yet I wanted 6 cores for growth and occasional heavy multitasking. I think the FX-6300 is a bargain buy.
Make sure you pair it with a 970 or better motherboard for optimum performance, although my old 760G seemed sufficient and is fine for general use.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for AMD FX 6300 Black Edition 3.5GHz Six-Core Socket AM3+ Boxed Processor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great value

PostedJune 30, 2015
Customer avatar
fromHouston, TX, USA
Age:18-24
Gender:Male
Good product, use it to play mid game, work perfectly, best to buy extra fan or cool liquid fan since the fan go with product looks weak in power.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for AMD FX 6300 Black Edition 3.5GHz Six-Core Socket AM3+ Boxed Processor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

good n cheap

PostedJune 29, 2015
Customer avatar
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
what the doctor ordered, bundled with motherboard makes it easy to rebuild my burned out motherboard. easy to install and configure
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for AMD FX 6300 Black Edition 3.5GHz Six-Core Socket AM3+ Boxed Processor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love Amd FX cpu's

PostedJune 18, 2015
Customer avatar
fromKennesaw, GA, USA
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
I upgraded from a fx 4100 found it be good improvement in speed of applications.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for AMD FX 6300 Black Edition 3.5GHz Six-Core Socket AM3+ Boxed Processor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

AMD FX 6300 3.5GHz 6-Core CPU

PostedJune 13, 2015
Customer avatar
fromFairfax, VA, USA
Gender:Male
Excellent CPU for the price. Obviously Intel i5 or i7 would top this, but you need to spend real money for those. Would reccomend this AMD CPU to a friend on a budget build definitely.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for AMD FX 6300 Black Edition 3.5GHz Six-Core Socket AM3+ Boxed Processor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great cpu for the money

PostedMay 19, 2015
Customer avatar
fromRiverside, CA, USA
Gender:Male
I am usually an intel builder only but this time with a move and everything else I had to build a budget gaming machine. This is a great cpu for gaming. Great performance at low temperatures.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for AMD FX 6300 Black Edition 3.5GHz Six-Core Socket AM3+ Boxed Processor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

runs very well

PostedMay 14, 2015
Customer avatar
fromDurant, OK, USA
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Used to upgrade my phenom 6 core works much faster and cooler
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for AMD FX 6300 Black Edition 3.5GHz Six-Core Socket AM3+ Boxed Processor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great bag for your buck

PostedMay 12, 2015
Customer avatar
fromrgd
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
this chip is very good 6 core chip. I do use it for gaming. have it on an AMD saber tooth 990 FX motherboard running with a XFX R9 28ox black edition graphics card 24 gigs of Gskill memory 2400 speed . a Samsung 250 gig drive with a 650 gig WD velocity raptor 10,000 rpm drive as storage and a cooler Master 800 watt pro power supply. this chip handles what ever I through at it and for the price heck you cant beat it.
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for AMD FX 6300 Black Edition 3.5GHz Six-Core Socket AM3+ Boxed Processor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Solid fast processor

PostedApril 26, 2015
Customer avatar
fromIndependence, MO
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Micro Center had a good deal on this processor, and TomsHardware recommends the 6300 so I got it. No regrets, it is a solid performer and fast.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for AMD FX 6300 Black Edition 3.5GHz Six-Core Socket AM3+ Boxed Processor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fast, efficient and a great price.

PostedApril 23, 2015
Customer avatar
fromSouthern MN
Age:55-64
I've built several PC's with this CPU and it works super. The Micro Center combo purchase includes both mainboard and CPU at an unbelievable price. Add an SSD system drive and it responds ultra fast. Can't do better for the money.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for AMD FX 6300 Black Edition 3.5GHz Six-Core Socket AM3+ Boxed Processor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect balance of price and performance.

PostedApril 22, 2015
Customer avatar
fromSt. Louis
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Was upgrading a machine to use for medium duty gaming and 3d CAD and didn't want to break the bank. This processor provides the right balance of speed and cores to prevent a processing bottleneck without breaking the bank.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for AMD FX 6300 Black Edition 3.5GHz Six-Core Socket AM3+ Boxed Processor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

It will get the job done

PostedApril 21, 2015
Customer avatar
fromOhio
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Easy to overclock, it's stable, and it's inexpensive. With Micro Center's bundle deals, you can get this with a free motherboard- an excellent choice for upgrading an older desktop, or a building a budget gaming rig.
AMDs tend to run a little warm, so think about ugrading to a better CPU cooler. If you plan on overclocking, it is definitely a good idea.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for AMD FX 6300 Black Edition 3.5GHz Six-Core Socket AM3+ Boxed Processor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best bang for the buck!

PostedApril 7, 2015
Customer avatar
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Installed this into my wife's computer. She plays games, watches movies, listens to music. No stability issues at all and it performs well. Excellent CPU for the money.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for AMD FX 6300 Black Edition 3.5GHz Six-Core Socket AM3+ Boxed Processor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Quick and reliable

PostedMarch 25, 2015
Customer avatar
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
So I bought this processor for my brother's computer, expecting moderate increase in performance. I was blown away! For how cheap this processor is, it's an awesome one. I have no problems multitasking with this processor and no matter how many programs and windows I have open this thing doesn't slow down. I would highly recommend this product to anyone looking for serious speed gains!
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for AMD FX 6300 Black Edition 3.5GHz Six-Core Socket AM3+ Boxed Processor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

beast cpu

PostedFebruary 28, 2015
Customer avatar
fromFort Thomas, KY, USA
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
6 cores well think that about does it really fast cpu have a 7850k cant wait to see if this is as good
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for AMD FX 6300 Black Edition 3.5GHz Six-Core Socket AM3+ Boxed Processor
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great little processor, a lot of bang for the buck

PostedFebruary 24, 2015
Customer avatar
fromKCMO
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
These FX 6300's come highly rated compared to the other similar systems (vs 4300's and 8300's and so on).
On one build, I was able to OC to 4.4GZ on all 6 cores, and that's just using air cooling (Cooler Master 212 EVO is awesome). Could have gone higher with liquid, but I don't care that much. I seriously got it to 4.4 without getting into the 70's (C) under stress so I was very happy about that.
On the flip side, if you are not Overclocking, compared to everything in its price range, I have no idea why anyone would prefer a much slower duo core Intel. Some things Intel does way better than AMD, but the price point here is worth talking about.
Don't expect too awful much, these were designed to compete with Intel Duo Cores, but I feel like I got a lot of bang for my buck, especially after I overclocked.
I have used it in my first build (OC'd to 4.4Ghz with a third party air cooler mentioned above) and with the computer I built for my two kids for minecraft, lego minifigures online, etc.
If you have a lot of money to spend on a processor, look at intel, but if you're looking for good performance and on a budget, this is pretty good.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 8 next>>