Customer reviews for AMD AMD FX 6300 Black Edition 3.5GHz Six-Core Socket AM3+ Boxed Processor

AMD AMD FX 6300 Black Edition 3.5GHz Six-Core Socket AM3+ Boxed Processor

Blow away the competition with the unrestrained power of an AMD FX Processor. Unlocked out of the box and competitively priced, AMD FX Processors give you more bang for the buck with aggressive performance and lightning-fast responsiveness. Get an extra burst of raw speed when you need it most with AMD Turbo CORE Technology.
Overall rating:
4.787 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(169 reviews) 169
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 169 reviews
5 Stars
139
4 Stars
26
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
156 out of 157(99%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
5 Questions | 14 Answers
Customer reviews for AMD FX 6300 Black Edition 3.5GHz Six-Core Socket AM3+ Boxed Processor
Review 1 for AMD FX 6300 Black Edition 3.5GHz Six-Core Socket AM3+ Boxed Processor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Little Beast

PostedFebruary 2, 2016
Customer avatar
fromMI
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
I have used this in a few builds for people. I can say with ease, people are happy with it, including me. It has great performance and for its price, it is the BEST buy for a CPU. You get a 6 core 3.5ghz that is easily overclock-able, for $90. You have to be insane or an Intel slappy, to not recognize that for the price and power, this is a great processor. Granted, if you have a more money the FX8350 is my choice, but for budget builds...you can NOT beat this chip.
PS Been building computers for 15 years and teaching computers for 10 years...this is a good processor.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for AMD FX 6300 Black Edition 3.5GHz Six-Core Socket AM3+ Boxed Processor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best cpu for the price

PostedJanuary 26, 2016
Customer avatar
fromDenver, CO, USA
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Considering that this cpu has 6 cores and OCs itself to 4.2 ghz I don't think there is a better processor out there for the price, I get over 100fps on call of duty advanced warfare on ultra settings when I paired this cpu with a gtx970 its a beautiful thing!!!! I have bought two of these now and they continue to satisfy me
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for AMD FX 6300 Black Edition 3.5GHz Six-Core Socket AM3+ Boxed Processor
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good Buy!

PostedJanuary 25, 2016
Customer avatar
I was not sure when I bought this but it performs nicely and was better than I expected.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for AMD FX 6300 Black Edition 3.5GHz Six-Core Socket AM3+ Boxed Processor
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good on a budget

PostedJanuary 5, 2016
Customer avatar
I got this as a bundle with $40 off a motherboard, it was the best price:performance ratio I could find.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for AMD FX 6300 Black Edition 3.5GHz Six-Core Socket AM3+ Boxed Processor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for my Wife's build!

PostedDecember 31, 2015
Customer avatar
fromMesquite, TX, USA
Age:18-24
Gender:Male
U bought this bundled with a motherboard for only $107, and it's definitely a steal!
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for AMD FX 6300 Black Edition 3.5GHz Six-Core Socket AM3+ Boxed Processor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Performance to price

PostedDecember 28, 2015
Customer avatar
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
I bought this along with a motherboard for a amazing deal for about 110 dollars. works flawlessly but would suggest an aftermarket cooler as the stock one is loud.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for AMD FX 6300 Black Edition 3.5GHz Six-Core Socket AM3+ Boxed Processor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Absolute bang for the buck

PostedDecember 16, 2015
Customer avatar
fromOrange, CA, USA
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
It's very reliably. Bought it for 89$ over clocked it to 4.3ghz easily. Very stable. Play my games really well
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for AMD FX 6300 Black Edition 3.5GHz Six-Core Socket AM3+ Boxed Processor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fast and Cool......Overclockers dream!!1

PostedDecember 12, 2015
Customer avatar
fromDelaware County, PA, USA
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
I really like this CPU. It just keeps getting better and better. I push it to it's limit, and still stable and cool.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for AMD FX 6300 Black Edition 3.5GHz Six-Core Socket AM3+ Boxed Processor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good Deal

PostedDecember 8, 2015
Customer avatar
This is faster or as fast as the competitor and much less expensive. I am very happy with it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for AMD FX 6300 Black Edition 3.5GHz Six-Core Socket AM3+ Boxed Processor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

fast cpu

PostedDecember 1, 2015
Customer avatar
fromRockford, IL, USA
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
cant beat the price for this speedy little processor.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for AMD FX 6300 Black Edition 3.5GHz Six-Core Socket AM3+ Boxed Processor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

CPU

PostedNovember 19, 2015
Customer avatar
fromSt Joseph, MO, USA
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
I always have good things to say about AMD products. This processor was installed in a project i will build for my company. I will use this product again and again. Its' cool running's impress me beyond some of the other AMD's I use. This is fast enough to do the office work intended even on a slow network, it out pulls the Intel we have on most of the desks.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for AMD FX 6300 Black Edition 3.5GHz Six-Core Socket AM3+ Boxed Processor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Worked No problems

PostedNovember 17, 2015
Customer avatar
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Pro's - It works and does its job, I got what I paid for.
Con's - None
I Build a computer for a family member for their birthday and only had a small budget to do it on, got it done thanks to the amazing deal this processor had with a motherboard. I basically paid $110 for both.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for AMD FX 6300 Black Edition 3.5GHz Six-Core Socket AM3+ Boxed Processor
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Very good product.

PostedOctober 22, 2015
Customer avatar
This processor is great for those who want a fast computer but is on a budget and cannot afford intel. It works very well I have absolutely no complains at all. The stock heatsink may be a little iffy but it definitely provides the processor with what it needs.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for AMD FX 6300 Black Edition 3.5GHz Six-Core Socket AM3+ Boxed Processor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great mid-range cpu!

PostedOctober 1, 2015
Customer avatar
fromWestmont, IL, USA
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
I have had this cpu with a Nvidia gtx 660 ti then moved to a Gtx 770, its able to feed the gpu perfectly with no bottleneck whatsoever! Intel who?
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for AMD FX 6300 Black Edition 3.5GHz Six-Core Socket AM3+ Boxed Processor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

For the money its excellent.

PostedAugust 26, 2015
Customer avatar
fromSanta Ana, CA, USA
Gender:Male
I purchased this CPU with the ASRock 970M pro MATX board and have been very pleased with the results. I am using a Thermaltake Frio cooler and so far have the CPU running at 4.4ghz with zero VRM throttling. while the VRMs do run almost hot I suspect once I get a different cooler something like the CM Gemini that blows air downward across the motherboard it will cool those heat-sinks a lot better. Very hard to beat for a 115$ with a 970 based motherboard. With my below config I am able to play GTA V and Witcher 3 at 2560x1440p with mostly highest settings at 60FPS.
Rest of the sytem is as follows
8GB DDR3 2400 EVGA memory
Gigabyte R9 290X windforce
512GB plextor SSD
Corsair AX 1200 PSU (Total overkill but I got it for 109 so I figured why not.)
Thermaltake V21 MATX Cube case.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for AMD FX 6300 Black Edition 3.5GHz Six-Core Socket AM3+ Boxed Processor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best deal in the industry

PostedAugust 18, 2015
Customer avatar
fromMN
I can't even count how many machines I've built with these processors - they're mind-bendingly cheap, and the performance is through the roof. Paired with a decent video card, they make for awesome gaming rigs, and otherwise they are stellar for absolutely any other purpose. Unless you have an application for which you won't notice a difference using a dual-core or quad-core, for which there honestly are many (like just a basic email-and-internet computer), and you can get such a CPU for less than this, you're kind of a dope if you buy anything else. It turbos up to 4.1Ghz when something intensive is happening, and unless you're vapid enough to just want to run benchmarks all day, the actual subjective performance of your machine - all other factors held constant - will be the same with this CPU vs. one from Intel that costs 5 times more.
Yes, the APU-style processors include better on-chip video processing capabilities - but if you're not looking for a gaming rig or content creation workstation, you wouldn't notice the difference over the Radeon 3000 or 4250-style graphics that would come on an appropriate motherboard for this CPU. And if you were a gamer/creator, you'd want a dedicated video card anyway.
There's just no way to lose with this CPU. And if you're being rational about it, it's hard to argue that there'd be a "win" with any other CPU. This is the ultimate in price/performance.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for AMD FX 6300 Black Edition 3.5GHz Six-Core Socket AM3+ Boxed Processor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Processor

PostedAugust 6, 2015
Customer avatar
fromJohns Creek, GA, USA
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
This is an excellent processor. It is a bargain for the price. Fast, fully compatible, no issues at all. The heat sink and fan mount is much better than any Intel Processor. The price is awesome.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for AMD FX 6300 Black Edition 3.5GHz Six-Core Socket AM3+ Boxed Processor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Budget build? Then here's the processor for it!

PostedJuly 30, 2015
Customer avatar
fromSaint Paul, MN, USA
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
You know what? This wasn't a bad processor at all. Love the price!
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for AMD FX 6300 Black Edition 3.5GHz Six-Core Socket AM3+ Boxed Processor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Bang for the Buck IMO

PostedJuly 23, 2015
Customer avatar
fromWeirton, WV, USA
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Handles everyday tasks and gaming without complaint. Only 95 watt TDP. Good price ratio per core. My Phenom II X6 is a little more powerful, but try finding one of those at a reasonable price anywhere today.
Most modern software chugs along easily with 4 cores, yet I wanted 6 cores for growth and occasional heavy multitasking. I think the FX-6300 is a bargain buy.
Make sure you pair it with a 970 or better motherboard for optimum performance, although my old 760G seemed sufficient and is fine for general use.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for AMD FX 6300 Black Edition 3.5GHz Six-Core Socket AM3+ Boxed Processor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great value

PostedJune 30, 2015
Customer avatar
fromHouston, TX, USA
Age:18-24
Gender:Male
Good product, use it to play mid game, work perfectly, best to buy extra fan or cool liquid fan since the fan go with product looks weak in power.
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 9 next>>