Customer reviews for AMD AMD FX 6300 Black Edition 3.5GHz Six-Core Socket AM3+ Boxed Processor

AMD AMD FX 6300 Black Edition 3.5GHz Six-Core Socket AM3+ Boxed Processor

Blow away the competition with the unrestrained power of an AMD FX Processor. Unlocked out of the box and competitively priced, AMD FX Processors give you more bang for the buck with aggressive performance and lightning-fast responsiveness. Get an extra burst of raw speed when you need it most with AMD Turbo CORE Technology.
Overall rating:
4.75 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(100 reviews) 100
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 100 reviews
5 Stars
80
4 Stars
17
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
92 out of 93(99%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer reviews for AMD FX 6300 Black Edition 3.5GHz Six-Core Socket AM3+ Boxed Processor
Review 1 for AMD FX 6300 Black Edition 3.5GHz Six-Core Socket AM3+ Boxed Processor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fast CPU supports ECC memory

PostedJuly 23, 2014
Customer avatar
Lou D
fromChicago
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Quality CPU, at a good price (because of the bundle with motherboard). The thing I like best about AMD CPUs (not their APUs though) is their support of ECC memory. Unbuffered ECC memory costs a little more, but it's necessary for critical applications like mine.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for AMD FX 6300 Black Edition 3.5GHz Six-Core Socket AM3+ Boxed Processor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works as expected

PostedJuly 23, 2014
Customer avatar
dnewhouse
fromMN
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Good processor for the price. Used this in a budget gaming PC build. Works as expected.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for AMD FX 6300 Black Edition 3.5GHz Six-Core Socket AM3+ Boxed Processor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product exceeded my expectations

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Customer avatar
Twisted Gister
fromHarrisonville, MO 64701, USA
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
I've been an Intel guy for a few years and wanted something with more flexibility and oomph. I tried the FX6300 and am pleasantly surprised at the performance. I especially like the fact that this withh shut down cores that aren't being used and turn then on when needed. The speed is great and I would highly recommend this to anyone for use as a regular desktop and even for a gamer.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for AMD FX 6300 Black Edition 3.5GHz Six-Core Socket AM3+ Boxed Processor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great CPU for price

PostedJuly 13, 2014
Customer avatar
wr3kl3ss
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
This CPU is a great deal for the price. It's great for gaming and multi tasking. Great for overclocking as well.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for AMD FX 6300 Black Edition 3.5GHz Six-Core Socket AM3+ Boxed Processor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellect value

PostedJune 19, 2014
Customer avatar
silverhairbp
fromSt. Louis, MO, USA
Age:35-44
I bought this processor bundled with a motherboard. The combination provides an excellent platform for even an advanced user, gamer or power office user. The system runs cool and there is plenty of power to spare even when pushed hard.
When mated to a SSD, the speed in great.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for AMD FX 6300 Black Edition 3.5GHz Six-Core Socket AM3+ Boxed Processor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

AMD 6-CORE 3.5GHZ

PostedJune 17, 2014
Customer avatar
Metalizer2
fromPennsylvania, USA
Gender:Male
Noticed a speed difference from the quad intel i was using before. Program installations and use are fast. Especially running an older game from 10 years ago.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for AMD FX 6300 Black Edition 3.5GHz Six-Core Socket AM3+ Boxed Processor
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

This is a great budget buy!

PostedJune 3, 2014
Customer avatar
Gustavio
The processor is certainly worth the price alone and, when bundled with the free motherboard, it could be a fantastic buy for some; however, please be aware that the free motherboard comes with limited capabilities. So, for those that have no interest (or need) for USB3, SATA III or PCI-E 3.0, you can't beat this deal!
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for AMD FX 6300 Black Edition 3.5GHz Six-Core Socket AM3+ Boxed Processor
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Price to performance

PostedMay 30, 2014
Customer avatar
Abuilder
I bought this processor to build for a media pc running ubuntu. For what it cost, this performs wonderfully.
The processor comes unlocked but I don't want to bother with overclocking since I'm just using it for media.
Overall, this processor is great for a budget build.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for AMD FX 6300 Black Edition 3.5GHz Six-Core Socket AM3+ Boxed Processor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Lightning Fast Processor

PostedMay 27, 2014
Customer avatar
JamesonO - Westmont
  • Staff
Gender:Male
The AMD FX 6300 Black Ed. is a monster processor moving at 3.5GHz and a whopping six cores, which may be overkill for some, but this works well with the latest games and has crazy processing power for even the most hungry tasks. This is also a steal if you bundle it with one of the AMD compatible motherboards.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for AMD FX 6300 Black Edition 3.5GHz Six-Core Socket AM3+ Boxed Processor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

this thing is a monster.

PostedMay 16, 2014
Customer avatar
layney
fromFort Worth, TX, USA
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
This is my second build. Love the 6 core processor. It I'd very powerful. Never lags. I highly recommend everyone to buy this product.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for AMD FX 6300 Black Edition 3.5GHz Six-Core Socket AM3+ Boxed Processor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great performance at a great price!

PostedMay 7, 2014
Customer avatar
KingBeetle
fromColumbus, Ohio
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
I have purchased two of these CPUs in the last six months, and they have worked faultlessly, even with the stock heat sink and cooling fan
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for AMD FX 6300 Black Edition 3.5GHz Six-Core Socket AM3+ Boxed Processor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Value

PostedApril 28, 2014
Customer avatar
TomM - Micro Center
  • Staff
fromSharonville, OH, USA
Gender:Male
This is AMD's competition for Intel's i3, and you'd be hard pressed to find a difference between the two, performance-wise. If you have something that can take advantage of AMD's 6 cores, then you've found a winner. It also helps that the 6300 is unlocked and will be supported on future motherboards as well.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for AMD FX 6300 Black Edition 3.5GHz Six-Core Socket AM3+ Boxed Processor
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Cost Effiecient

PostedApril 26, 2014
Customer avatar
DavidW - Mayfield
  • Staff
fromMicro Center
Gender:Male
Gives a nice blend of price and performance, great for entry level gaming
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for AMD FX 6300 Black Edition 3.5GHz Six-Core Socket AM3+ Boxed Processor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

works great

PostedApril 22, 2014
Customer avatar
kirtz88
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
it was easy to install and had no problems over clocking.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for AMD FX 6300 Black Edition 3.5GHz Six-Core Socket AM3+ Boxed Processor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Cheap and Runs great

PostedApril 1, 2014
Customer avatar
Sanktion
for a key part in my new pc I got a nice deal with this processor and with the motherboard bundle it was a steal.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for AMD FX 6300 Black Edition 3.5GHz Six-Core Socket AM3+ Boxed Processor
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Stable and fast

PostedApril 1, 2014
Customer avatar
DanielSan
fromWestminster, CO, USA
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
With 16 GB DDR3 and an ASUS MOBO this build is fast enough for me. I had to sacrifice due to budget and opted for this six core AMD but I'm not disappointed.
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for AMD FX 6300 Black Edition 3.5GHz Six-Core Socket AM3+ Boxed Processor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This is a great processor for the buck

PostedMarch 26, 2014
Customer avatar
Myoda22
I highly recommend people to go with this CPU and motherboard combo deal.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for AMD FX 6300 Black Edition 3.5GHz Six-Core Socket AM3+ Boxed Processor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The Workhorse

PostedMarch 25, 2014
Customer avatar
pholtz
I really like this chip. Though AMD usually makes hot chips, especially the FX series, the 6300 puts out under 100W at stock speeds. I think the normal output is somewhere between 50-75W. As a result, cooling is not a huge problem, and although I would strongly recommend going with an aftermarket heatsink, you do not have to.
Combined with adequate cooling, this cpu has a lot of headroom to increase its frequency, and overclocks of 1GHz or more are not unheard of. That being said, it is still very capable at stock speeds, so clock it according to your needs.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for AMD FX 6300 Black Edition 3.5GHz Six-Core Socket AM3+ Boxed Processor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

WoW.

PostedMarch 21, 2014
Customer avatar
vmystikilv
fromAtlanta, GA, USA
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
I originally had a AMD 64x2 3800+ for a very long time. I ended up getting my hands on a couple of 260 216 GTX's and learned the definition of bottleneck real quick, thus , a new build was called for.
This processor is amazing. It runs everything and every game at absolute flawless levels. I ended up getting this with a MSI 970A G46 motherboard with 8gb of dual channel 1600mhz from microcenter with 18 minute pick up and was simply amazed. Booted without problem on first try and everything went perfect. Anyone looking at what cpu to buy , You will not be disappointed with this processor. I almost got the A10 and others but I already had GPU's so it seemed unnecessary and when looking at benchmarks , and price, for the 6350 series and 8xxx series, this just made sense. After everything was built and done I couldn't be happier.
BTW, I went back the next day and bought a better CPU fan. The other worked fine, but I wanted things to be just a tad bit cooler. With a new CPU fan and the IN WIN GT1 case I bought with the pieces it runs excellent at all temps and under any load.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for AMD FX 6300 Black Edition 3.5GHz Six-Core Socket AM3+ Boxed Processor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for ESXi Whitebox

PostedMarch 12, 2014
Customer avatar
bryansj
fromKennesaw, GA, USA
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
User submitted photo
I've had this thing in my whitebox ESXi Virtual Machine server for a year now. It works great. From day one I installed the 212 EVO cooler and I use less aggressive cooling and didn't overclock.
It has plenty of power to run Plex transcoding was well as all the other things I ask of my server. It serves up pfSense, Windows Server 2012, and Win7 virtual machines very well. If I was going to upgrade I would like to bump my RAM up from 16GB to 32GB, but the processor is fine (and cheap).
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>