Customer reviews for AMD AMD FX 6300 Black Edition 3.5GHz Six-Core Socket AM3+ Boxed Processor

AMD AMD FX 6300 Black Edition 3.5GHz Six-Core Socket AM3+ Boxed Processor

Blow away the competition with the unrestrained power of an AMD FX Processor. Unlocked out of the box and competitively priced, AMD FX Processors give you more bang for the buck with aggressive performance and lightning-fast responsiveness. Get an extra burst of raw speed when you need it most with AMD Turbo CORE Technology.
Overall rating:
4.747 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(87 reviews) 87
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 87 reviews
5 Stars
70
4 Stars
14
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
79 out of 80(99%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 0 Answers
Customer reviews for AMD FX 6300 Black Edition 3.5GHz Six-Core Socket AM3+ Boxed Processor
Review 1 for AMD FX 6300 Black Edition 3.5GHz Six-Core Socket AM3+ Boxed Processor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

works great

PostedApril 22, 2014
Customer avatar
kirtz88
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
it was easy to install and had no problems over clocking.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for AMD FX 6300 Black Edition 3.5GHz Six-Core Socket AM3+ Boxed Processor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Cheap and Runs great

PostedApril 1, 2014
Customer avatar
Sanktion
for a key part in my new pc I got a nice deal with this processor and with the motherboard bundle it was a steal.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for AMD FX 6300 Black Edition 3.5GHz Six-Core Socket AM3+ Boxed Processor
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Stable and fast

PostedApril 1, 2014
Customer avatar
DanielSan
fromWestminster, CO, USA
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
With 16 GB DDR3 and an ASUS MOBO this build is fast enough for me. I had to sacrifice due to budget and opted for this six core AMD but I'm not disappointed.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for AMD FX 6300 Black Edition 3.5GHz Six-Core Socket AM3+ Boxed Processor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This is a great processor for the buck

PostedMarch 26, 2014
Customer avatar
Myoda22
I highly recommend people to go with this CPU and motherboard combo deal.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for AMD FX 6300 Black Edition 3.5GHz Six-Core Socket AM3+ Boxed Processor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The Workhorse

PostedMarch 25, 2014
Customer avatar
pholtz
I really like this chip. Though AMD usually makes hot chips, especially the FX series, the 6300 puts out under 100W at stock speeds. I think the normal output is somewhere between 50-75W. As a result, cooling is not a huge problem, and although I would strongly recommend going with an aftermarket heatsink, you do not have to.
Combined with adequate cooling, this cpu has a lot of headroom to increase its frequency, and overclocks of 1GHz or more are not unheard of. That being said, it is still very capable at stock speeds, so clock it according to your needs.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for AMD FX 6300 Black Edition 3.5GHz Six-Core Socket AM3+ Boxed Processor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

WoW.

PostedMarch 21, 2014
Customer avatar
vmystikilv
fromAtlanta, GA, USA
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
I originally had a AMD 64x2 3800+ for a very long time. I ended up getting my hands on a couple of 260 216 GTX's and learned the definition of bottleneck real quick, thus , a new build was called for.
This processor is amazing. It runs everything and every game at absolute flawless levels. I ended up getting this with a MSI 970A G46 motherboard with 8gb of dual channel 1600mhz from microcenter with 18 minute pick up and was simply amazed. Booted without problem on first try and everything went perfect. Anyone looking at what cpu to buy , You will not be disappointed with this processor. I almost got the A10 and others but I already had GPU's so it seemed unnecessary and when looking at benchmarks , and price, for the 6350 series and 8xxx series, this just made sense. After everything was built and done I couldn't be happier.
BTW, I went back the next day and bought a better CPU fan. The other worked fine, but I wanted things to be just a tad bit cooler. With a new CPU fan and the IN WIN GT1 case I bought with the pieces it runs excellent at all temps and under any load.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for AMD FX 6300 Black Edition 3.5GHz Six-Core Socket AM3+ Boxed Processor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for ESXi Whitebox

PostedMarch 12, 2014
Customer avatar
bryansj
fromKennesaw, GA, USA
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
User submitted photo
I've had this thing in my whitebox ESXi Virtual Machine server for a year now. It works great. From day one I installed the 212 EVO cooler and I use less aggressive cooling and didn't overclock.
It has plenty of power to run Plex transcoding was well as all the other things I ask of my server. It serves up pfSense, Windows Server 2012, and Win7 virtual machines very well. If I was going to upgrade I would like to bump my RAM up from 16GB to 32GB, but the processor is fine (and cheap).
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for AMD FX 6300 Black Edition 3.5GHz Six-Core Socket AM3+ Boxed Processor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

3.5 GHz and six cores is powerful

PostedMarch 6, 2014
Customer avatar
Jaydavee
fromKennesaw, GA
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
I'll give an example of the most demanding thing I've done with this AMD FX 6300 so far. I'm able to record, with audio, Second Life at 720p HD, 30 fps. I've done that with a few other intense 3D games/worlds too. I'm even able to do this while driving a a drag racing vehicle in SL. With SL being a live-transferred environment at all times, it seems to be the hardest one to get a smooth recording of. This processor along with the rest of the machine is handling it.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for AMD FX 6300 Black Edition 3.5GHz Six-Core Socket AM3+ Boxed Processor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very cool running, quick hexa-core with easy overclocking

PostedFebruary 21, 2014
Customer avatar
corchid
fromBeaumont, TX, USA
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Although not as fast per core as Intel, the extra cores help it remain competitive in multi threaded applications. For $109, it's the best in it's price class and an unbelievable deal when bundled with a free motherboard!
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for AMD FX 6300 Black Edition 3.5GHz Six-Core Socket AM3+ Boxed Processor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing bang per back

PostedFebruary 20, 2014
Customer avatar
Hy5
fromRedondo Beach, CA, USA
Age:Over 65
Gender:Male
This is a Hy performance processor at reasonable cost. It's ideal for system building. I like AMD products.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for AMD FX 6300 Black Edition 3.5GHz Six-Core Socket AM3+ Boxed Processor
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

AMD FX 6300 Black Edition

PostedFebruary 19, 2014
Customer avatar
BenGali
fromBellflower, CA, USA
Age:Over 65
Gender:Male
AMD FX 6300 Black Edition 3.5GHz Six-Core Socket AM3+ Boxed Processor, did whatever I asked it to do
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for AMD FX 6300 Black Edition 3.5GHz Six-Core Socket AM3+ Boxed Processor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great processor

PostedFebruary 11, 2014
Customer avatar
radstry
This is a great processor for a mid-priced gaming build.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for AMD FX 6300 Black Edition 3.5GHz Six-Core Socket AM3+ Boxed Processor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great price for what you get

PostedJanuary 28, 2014
Customer avatar
guamaniantreerunner
fromRiverside, CA, USA
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Gets good fps on games on high alongside my 270X. Easy to install and runs quiet enough with the stock cooler. Temps are good, though I might add an aftermarket cpu cooler later on.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for AMD FX 6300 Black Edition 3.5GHz Six-Core Socket AM3+ Boxed Processor
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

appears fast

PostedJanuary 26, 2014
Customer avatar
vkb
fromMD
Gender:Male
upgrade from phenom II x4 905e in htpc. appears to provide more processing power.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for AMD FX 6300 Black Edition 3.5GHz Six-Core Socket AM3+ Boxed Processor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

this Processor ROCKS!

PostedJanuary 23, 2014
Customer avatar
macepie
fromDallas, TX, USA
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
the processor made my son's computer twice as fast ,really! big bang for the buck 109.00 for some real speed
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for AMD FX 6300 Black Edition 3.5GHz Six-Core Socket AM3+ Boxed Processor
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good for the price

PostedJanuary 18, 2014
Customer avatar
Jay P.A.
fromWilloughby, OH, USA
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Holds up very well when pushed with some heavy tasks, but doesn't really bang out everyday tasks either. Performs as it's priced - durable, respectable, but nothing to write home about.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for AMD FX 6300 Black Edition 3.5GHz Six-Core Socket AM3+ Boxed Processor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Gaming Budget CPU

PostedJanuary 17, 2014
Customer avatar
jcastle9680
fromCincinnati, Oh
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Great CPU for the price! Running it at 4.2GHZ at a cool 20-25c idle and barely ever hits 45 under load.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for AMD FX 6300 Black Edition 3.5GHz Six-Core Socket AM3+ Boxed Processor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Processor

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Customer avatar
tbarr
fromDenver, CO, USA
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Love the 6300, it is priced well for what it does. Easily overclocks to 4.4 with a decent motherboard and cooler. This thing flies and I just got another one here for only $90! Wow, what a deal. First one I bought was $120 or so and I'd pay that again. Works well for video processing as well as gaming, and won't break the bank either.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for AMD FX 6300 Black Edition 3.5GHz Six-Core Socket AM3+ Boxed Processor
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

mixed bag

PostedJanuary 11, 2014
Customer avatar
R Daystrom
fromnh
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
I've built 9 computers with this CPU. This processor is fast but it BSOD with certain business applications using both Win7 32 & 64bit. Tried 5 different boards from Asus and Gigabyte-latest drivers and Bios on all with same result. No issues when using an Intel core I3/I5. Also, AMD Catalyst application named "Fuel" creates constant errors- resolved by disabling the amd "fuel service" or by using an add-on graphics card. The BSOD issue was troubling since I had to replace 2 computers with Intel based CPU/Board combos at an added cost. The applications were credit card reader and ADP accounting related so, not common to general users. The speed seems to compare well to the faster I3 and mid I5 CPU's from intel for most standard applications. Other: GA-78lmt2sp, ga78lmt-usb3, GA970a-ud3p, M5A78LM-usb3,M5A97LE boards, segate 1tb hd, 8gb 1333 GSkill ripjaws, or Corsair 1333, cmx430 psu, oem cooler, used various Nvidia graphics adaptors on all.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for AMD FX 6300 Black Edition 3.5GHz Six-Core Socket AM3+ Boxed Processor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice chip

PostedJanuary 9, 2014
Customer avatar
Sentinel Consulting
frombaltimore, md
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
I put this in a bargain build for my kids.
It's solid, no blue screens, crashes or any other issues.
I did not OC it.
I would recommend it if you want to save money.
I built an i7 3700 and i7 4700 most recently and this is as stable as an Intel CPU, if not a bit slower.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>