Customer reviews for Micro Center Micro Center 120GB 2.5" SATA III 6.0Gbps Solid State Drive SSD) with SandForce SF-2281 Controller

Micro Center Micro Center 120GB 2.5" SATA III 6.0Gbps Solid State Drive SSD) with SandForce SF-2281 Controller

Taking the advantages of NAND flash memory, Solid State Drive SSD) provides better solutions on durability, performance, and power efficiency over traditional hard disk drives. Employing static wear-leveling technology to maximize device mean time between failures MTBF), The SSD solutions are your best choice on wide-ranged mobile computing devices and consumer electronic products. With standard SATA form factor or customized module form factor, The 2.5 Solid State Drive S510 use latest technology to enhance Read/Write performance up to 550/510MB/s).
Overall rating:
4.571 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(14 reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 14 reviews
5 Stars
11
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
12 out of 13(92%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Micro Center 120GB 2.5" SATA III 6.0Gbps Solid State Drive SSD) with SandForce SF-2281 Controller
Review 1 for Micro Center 120GB 2.5" SATA III 6.0Gbps Solid State Drive SSD) with SandForce SF-2281 Controller
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

For Speed, SSD

PostedMay 1, 2013
Customer avatar
drunik93
fromWarren, MI, USA
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
An SSD OS drive will get you great speed in start up. Have a second drive for the rest of your materials, but SSD for the main part.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Micro Center 120GB 2.5" SATA III 6.0Gbps Solid State Drive SSD) with SandForce SF-2281 Controller
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

it works well

PostedApril 27, 2013
Customer avatar
adcor
fromTX
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Careful to initialize it first, afterwords it works well.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Micro Center 120GB 2.5" SATA III 6.0Gbps Solid State Drive SSD) with SandForce SF-2281 Controller
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great value SSD

PostedNovember 11, 2012
Customer avatar
Anonymous
fromMarietta, GA, USA
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
great for the price. A pain to load the firmware but well worth the time. Win 7 loads in no time and apps/games are loading super fast.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Micro Center 120GB 2.5" SATA III 6.0Gbps Solid State Drive SSD) with SandForce SF-2281 Controller
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Rock solid stable

PostedNovember 1, 2012
Customer avatar
Southcross
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Used this drive to upgrade my 2.4ghz Core2Duo, along with installing Win7 Pro. Absolutely rock solid, super fast read/writes, everything a SSD should be. General application use, launch speed, etc. surpass my 4-Core 3ghz Xeon machine at work.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Micro Center 120GB 2.5" SATA III 6.0Gbps Solid State Drive SSD) with SandForce SF-2281 Controller
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Happy with the drive, might need a firmware update.

PostedOctober 31, 2012
Customer avatar
Anonymous
I had a bit of a problem with the drive locking up; turns out it is a rebranded ADATA S510, and you can get a firmware update from the ADATA web site. Performance of the drive seems good, under Windows 8 I can go from a powered off computer to logging in in less than 20 seconds. Hopefully the firmware update fixes my lock up problem.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Micro Center 120GB 2.5" SATA III 6.0Gbps Solid State Drive SSD) with SandForce SF-2281 Controller
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Super fast drive. Absolutely the best upgrade for the buck!

PostedAugust 16, 2012
Customer avatar
Skillett
fromDallas, TX, USA
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
If your still running a mechanical drive and wonder if this SSD will make a difference, then I have your answer. YES! The speed is unbelievable. Go out and buy this SSD and see for yourself. I promise you will notice a difference. Apps/Games install faster and Programs open as soon as you click.
Things to remember:
Make sure it's in the first SATA slot on your MB.
Use a quality SATA cable.
In Windows, make sure disk management sees the drive.
DO NOT defrag the drive. This isn't necessary with SSDs and will only wear the drive out quicker.
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Micro Center 120GB 2.5" SATA III 6.0Gbps Solid State Drive SSD) with SandForce SF-2281 Controller
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Good price, Speedy, Dead after 2 months

PostedAugust 4, 2012
Customer avatar
jsox
Bought one of these in May to speed up an aging laptop. Fit perfectly. No trouble taking a fresh install of W7 Pro. Great performance. I was a happy camper until one reboot it came up not found. No warning previously, just dead, Pulled the SSD, blew out the contacts. Same thing. Tried the SSD in two external connection devices on different PCs. No joy. After only 2 months. Took it back and Microcenter gave me a full refund with zero hassle. Bought a 128G model of a different brand that was on sale. Hopefully it will have better reliability.
No, I do not recommend this product.
-3points
1of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Micro Center 120GB 2.5" SATA III 6.0Gbps Solid State Drive SSD) with SandForce SF-2281 Controller
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Slower than some, but a great value anyway.

PostedJuly 22, 2012
Customer avatar
Christopher Andreae
fromCincinnati, OH
Gender:Male
There are faster drives out there, but these drive have been traditionally reliable and have great access time reads.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Micro Center 120GB 2.5" SATA III 6.0Gbps Solid State Drive SSD) with SandForce SF-2281 Controller
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for booting Operating systems

PostedJuly 19, 2012
Customer avatar
Victor A
fromSoCal
Age:18-24
Gender:Male
This SSD is the best bang for the buck. Currently using it to boot my Hackintosh system and it boots, shuts down, reboots, wakes from sleep VERY fast.
SATA3 (6Gbps) speed works great for moving game saves and loading applications. Overall, I am very happy with this product. I am planning to buy a second in order to run a RAID 0 or perhaps a RAID 1 for my Operating system.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Micro Center 120GB 2.5" SATA III 6.0Gbps Solid State Drive SSD) with SandForce SF-2281 Controller
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Super speed for a lower price!

PostedMay 6, 2012
Customer avatar
Anonymous
fromSt Ann, MO, USA
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
User submitted photo
I purchased the Micro Center 120GB 2.5" SATA III 6.0Gbps Solid State Drive SSD) with SandForce SF-2281 Controller and put it in an older computer (nForce 4 Motherboard with an AMD Athlox X2 3800, 2GB DDR3200) mounted on an Apricorn Velocity Solo SATA III PCIe x1 card. I installed Ubuntu Desktop 12.04 without a problem The computer POSTs in about 5 seconds; Ubuntu boots in about 7 right into a ready desktop. This this is beyond fast. As old as this computer is, I can't believe just how fast it actually is with this drive/card combination. I couldn't ask for anything better!
Yes, I recommend this product.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Micro Center 120GB 2.5" SATA III 6.0Gbps Solid State Drive SSD) with SandForce SF-2281 Controller
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

WOW What a bang for the buck!!!

PostedApril 3, 2012
Customer avatar
stanski
I installed this in a new Lenovo E420 ThinkPad and what a difference. I remember back in the day when RAM is what offered the best performance/price ratio. This SSD is Microcenter's best kept secret. The price is phenomenal and performance is just as advertised (I verified with ATTO Benchmark).
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Micro Center 120GB 2.5" SATA III 6.0Gbps Solid State Drive SSD) with SandForce SF-2281 Controller
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Drive Great Price

PostedMarch 31, 2012
Customer avatar
Alan M G
I installed this as the the boot drive with a clean install of Win 7 Pro 64bit. Like the other reviews, boot time (including POST) from the time I hit the switch to logged on and working is about 30 seconds. From standby, I am up and running in 10 seconds. I will be buying another one for my daughter's older laptop. I wish the 240 gb drives would come down somemore in price.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Micro Center 120GB 2.5" SATA III 6.0Gbps Solid State Drive SSD) with SandForce SF-2281 Controller
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great SSD for excellent price!

PostedMarch 18, 2012
Customer avatar
Fredzep
Installed this SSD as boot drive with Win 7 Pro 64. Full boot in 24 seconds (including 16 seconds to post). This is a microcenter private label of an Adata S510 SSD at a much cheaper price. Microcenter is just killing Newegg recently!
My setup
Microcenter 120GB SATA 3 SSD S510
i5 2500K
16GB Kingston HyperX
WD 1TB Black Caviar SATA 3
Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO
Thermaltake Purepower 500
Yes, I recommend this product.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Micro Center 120GB 2.5" SATA III 6.0Gbps Solid State Drive SSD) with SandForce SF-2281 Controller
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

FAST SSD!!!

PostedMarch 17, 2012
Customer avatar
Nicholas G
fromIrvine, CA, USA
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
I just grabbed one of these drives and WOW!!!! Great speed! 10 min Win 7 clean install. 8 seconds to boot into Windows after system post!! Do yourself a favor and buy this drive! Benchmarked with ATTO at advertised speed! Can go wrong with this drive. Be sure to buy a SATA 6 cable. Best system upgrade out there! All programs open in 1-3 seconds.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.