Customer reviews for Intel Intel 520 Series 120GB SATA 6.0Gb/s 2.5" Internal Solid State Drive SSD)

Intel Intel 520 Series 120GB SATA 6.0Gb/s 2.5" Internal Solid State Drive SSD)

Higher throughput + lower latencies + Intel reliability = a winning solution for enthusiasts and professionals alike! The 520 Series SSDs from Intel are their fastest to date. This means screaming game loading times and greater productivity for businesses thanks to leading random performance. Pick up this 520 Series 120GB Solid State Drive today and see what you've been missing!
Overall rating:
4.636 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(11 reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 11 reviews
5 Stars
8
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
11 out of 11(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Intel 520 Series 120GB SATA 6.0Gb/s 2.5" Internal Solid State Drive SSD)
Review 1 for Intel 520 Series 120GB SATA 6.0Gb/s 2.5" Internal Solid State Drive SSD)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easy setup and Very FAST.

PostedMarch 27, 2012
Customer avatar
Reloadwin
fromSt Louis, MO, USA
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Very easy installation and setup. I just recently build my first PC with some help. The SSD package came with mostly everything you need, data migration software, case adaptor for desktop, step by step install information, you will need a SATA III cable if you want the speed! Windows loads in 2 secs.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Intel 520 Series 120GB SATA 6.0Gb/s 2.5" Internal Solid State Drive SSD)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fast and reliable

PostedApril 24, 2012
Customer avatar
frank00
fromTroy, MI
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
This 520 series drive is my first SATA III 6GB/s drive. Windows Experience Index is 7.9 (highest). It's fast on the reads AND writes.
My experience with SSDs has been limited to Intel drives because I haven't had a problem with them whatsoever having gone from a 40GB X25-V to an 80GB X-25M and now a 120GB 530.
The drive I picked up had the latest firmware version so no update was necessary prior to cloning (though I still went through the process of checking#. Also, it's a good idea to make sure your motherboard's BIOS is updated to the latest production release level to ensure top performance with SATA III drives.
It is very easy to clone your boot/OS drive #or any other drive for that matter# using the included Intel/Acronis Data Migration software. Just install and run the software in windows, choose the source and target then reboot. The drive clones on reboot and then shuts down the system. Remove the old boot drive, boot #leaving the new drive attached of course) and you have your upgrade. It's that easy.
I'm very impressed with the performance of this drive.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Intel 520 Series 120GB SATA 6.0Gb/s 2.5" Internal Solid State Drive SSD)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

A needed tip about the data migration software

PostedSeptember 9, 2012
Customer avatar
omensign
fromKaty Tx
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
The drive worked great, but the data migration software didn't play nice with my system build. I eventually resorted to a third party solution, rather than using the suggested acronis data migration software. After doing some troubleshooting afterwards I discovered that the primary problem was that my hard drive was on a separate SATA controller that was initializing at a different stage during boot up. So make sure, if you have multiple SATA controllers on your motherboard, to place your primary drive and the SSD on the same controller.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Intel 520 Series 120GB SATA 6.0Gb/s 2.5" Internal Solid State Drive SSD)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very Quick

PostedNovember 7, 2012
Customer avatar
vandi
fromRI
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Plugged this into a MSI z77 M Power and it worked right away at the advertised speeds, 550 Read/520 Write. Also has a 5 year warranty.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Intel 520 Series 120GB SATA 6.0Gb/s 2.5" Internal Solid State Drive SSD)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great SSD!!!

PostedMarch 13, 2013
Customer avatar
bjr2000
fromMinneapolis, MN, USA
Age:Under 18
Gender:Male
Would be 5 STARS but it is too expensive for the amount of Gigabytes. Actually around 540 MB/s not 6.0 GB/s at all.
Yes, I recommend this product.
-2points
1of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Intel 520 Series 120GB SATA 6.0Gb/s 2.5" Internal Solid State Drive SSD)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

In reply to bjr2000's review.

PostedApril 24, 2013
Customer avatar
Anonymous
fromFlint, MI
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
The data transfer rating of 6.0Gb/s does not state the speed of the drive, but the rate of speed the data is transferred between the drive and the motherboard. The drive speed is determined by the manufacturing process and materials used.
I have used this product in multiple builds, both commercial and gaming, and have thoroughly tested and reviewed this product.
It actually beats it's OCZ counterpart by a large margin in my benchmarks.
Again, the bandwidth (6.0Gb/s for SATA III) does not determine the speed of the drive. It determines the speed at which the drive is able to communicate with the motherboard interface. You were correct at stating that it reads roughly 540Mb/s, because in the technical specifications of the product, set by the manufacturer, it states, and I quote... "Read Speed: Up to 550MBps"
I'm not trying to put you down, but you do need to go learn the basics of how computers work, and what terminology is used, and how speeds are measured. I could teach you if you like.
This product is by far the best bang for the buck if you're a die-hard Intel fan, and only Microcenter can bring it to you at this price!
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Intel 520 Series 120GB SATA 6.0Gb/s 2.5" Internal Solid State Drive SSD)
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Fast

PostedApril 25, 2013
Customer avatar
grtlakz
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Too small, too expensive, works great! I install my heaviest resource hog software on it i.e., Adobe Creative Suite, Windows & 64 etc..
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Intel 520 Series 120GB SATA 6.0Gb/s 2.5" Internal Solid State Drive SSD)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works great

PostedApril 25, 2013
Customer avatar
Deco Tech
fromloveland, OH
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Speed is wonderful. Excellent product. No issues in the 2 months I have been using it.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Intel 520 Series 120GB SATA 6.0Gb/s 2.5" Internal Solid State Drive SSD)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

really fast drive

PostedApril 29, 2013
Customer avatar
juschill
fromCleveland Heights, OH, USA
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
I bought this drive to use as a o/s drive and it works very very well I will be upgrading soon to a large drive from the same manufacturer and this one will go to the kids
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Intel 520 Series 120GB SATA 6.0Gb/s 2.5" Internal Solid State Drive SSD)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fast

PostedMay 21, 2013
Customer avatar
Roockster
fromCincinnati, OH, USA
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Installed this as boot drive along with a WD caviar black 1tb on a brand new built system. Everything I did in the past would only get me a 5.9 on windows experience rating before. Installed this drive and re-ran WE and maxed at 7.9. Boot times with windows 7 is just under 20 seconds. This includes entering password. Definitely not the fastest but it's fast enough for me. Did usual ssd tweaks... Turned off hibernation, indexing, page filing was manually set to a lower value. Trim is auto set by windows 7.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Intel 520 Series 120GB SATA 6.0Gb/s 2.5" Internal Solid State Drive SSD)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Quality worth the slightly higher cost

PostedJune 5, 2013
Customer avatar
SafeTinspector
Gender:Male
My laptop never booted faster or ran better than it does with this set as the boot drive.
You might be able to get faster devices from other manufacturers for around the same price, but you won't notice the difference in speed and you might notice the difference in long-term reliability.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.