Customer reviews for Gigabyte Gigabyte GA-H61M-DS2 LGA 1155 H61 mATX Intel Motherboard

Gigabyte Gigabyte GA-H61M-DS2 LGA 1155 H61 mATX Intel Motherboard

GIGABYTE Ultra Durable 4 Classic motherboards, including the GA-H61M-DS2, support next generation Intel 22nm processors. The GIGABYTE motherboard is one of the first to provide gamers with the latest Gen.3 PCI Express technology, delivering maximum data bandwidth for the latest discrete graphics cards Navigating through the BIOS to change system settings can be a daunting task for users not familiar with control Ffunctions and mouse-less navigation. GIGABYTE On/Off Charge technology allows you to charge your iPhone, iPad and iPod Touch regardless of whether your PC is on, in standby mode or even off. A derivative of GIGABYTE's highly acclaimed 3x USB Power feature, On/Off Charge enables devices to draw more current from GIGABYTE motherboard USB ports than standard USB ports allow, so that charging from your PC can be as fast as with a charger.Hybrid EFI Technology combines the benefits of GIGABYTE's mature BIOS platform including stability and compatibility with 3rd party products with 3TB+ HDD support from EFI technology, allowing GIGABYTE to offer the best of both worlds through a quick and easy BIOS update using GIGABYTE's @BIOS utility that is freely available from the GIGABYTE website.
Overall rating:
4.692 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(13 reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 13 reviews
5 Stars
10
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
13 out of 13(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Gigabyte GA-H61M-DS2 LGA 1155 H61 mATX Intel Motherboard
Review 1 for Gigabyte GA-H61M-DS2 LGA 1155 H61 mATX Intel Motherboard
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

More than you need

PostedJune 23, 2013
Customer avatar
Joe314
fromNutley, NJ
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Easy and flawless install. No issues and the bios updates are like child's play, easy and straight forward. Will buy again if need be.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Gigabyte GA-H61M-DS2 LGA 1155 H61 mATX Intel Motherboard
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Rock solid..very easy build

PostedMay 28, 2013
Customer avatar
cropover
frombowie,md
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
easy setup and worked great..one issue with the motherboard cd is it will not auto run on windows 8 system..you have to install drivers individually
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Gigabyte GA-H61M-DS2 LGA 1155 H61 mATX Intel Motherboard
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great motherboard

PostedApril 26, 2013
Customer avatar
ROBERT L.
purchased with intel centron processor and the two work great as a digital pinball machine system
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Gigabyte GA-H61M-DS2 LGA 1155 H61 mATX Intel Motherboard
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Board for the buck!

PostedJanuary 3, 2013
Customer avatar
kb8ygc
fromKy
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
I picked up this board (Rev 2.2; BIOS Rev 7) for a Mac build. I am running Mountain Lion (Apple APP Store download version) 10.8.0 and updated to 10.8.2. Used the DSDT and Multibeast install, works great (yes, you do need the DSDT despite what others claim for the sound to actually work).
Amazingly fast board, my setup, using:
Celeron G550 2.6GHz LGA 1155 Processor
GeForce 8400 GS 1024MB DDR3 Video
4GB of memory (soon to be 8GB)
This is my version of the hobomac.
Board is small as expected, and the SATA ports were not a problem with the Geforce 8400 video card, recently I upgraded the card to an ATI 6XXX series and did fit but mine was the low profile card. Right angle SATA may be needed for other video cards as suggested. Yes, the Celeron G550 built in graphics did work for the initial install, but decided to go with a better video card.
Great looking BIOS and easy to navigate. I purchased the open box, so mine was under $30, what a deal! Can’t beat the Micro Center pricing for this board.
Using this setup with Logic Pro 9, works flawlessly.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Gigabyte GA-H61M-DS2 LGA 1155 H61 mATX Intel Motherboard
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

If you don't ask it to play beyond it's strengths, this board is fabulous!

PostedNovember 21, 2012
Customer avatar
loudhymns
fromMinneapolis, MN
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Let's face it. This is a basic board for basic installations. Not as in "beginner board." Just basic. Throw in a Core I3 with integral graphics and you end up with a budget screamer that is fantastic for anything other than heavy gaming or video rendering. For single threaded non-game applications, this board with an I3-3225 runs rings around my FX8120 8 core machine, all in a cool running silent machine that consumes 1/3 the power.
You will find negative feedback on this site and elsewhere that dwell on Gigabyte's allegedly poor placement of the SATA sockets. What a senseless gripe. Sure, IF you plop a full length double slot video card on top of a motherboard that is half it's size, and IF you are too lazy to use right angle SATA cables, then sure - you will block two of the SATA sockets. But that is like someone complaining about how hard it is to stuff a V8 in their Chevy Cavalier. People with monster video cards should be nowhere near Micro ATX boards. There are larger boards out there with more high speed SATA and USB ports than will ever be used, all for about $20 more than this board. To those folks I say get real and quit complaining.
The truth is, this is a quintessential Gigabyte product: fabulous quality, ultra durable build (with solid state caps), low cost and with up to the minute driver and BIOS support. All for $35 after rebate. At that price this is a steal that can't be passed up.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Gigabyte GA-H61M-DS2 LGA 1155 H61 mATX Intel Motherboard
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good but small

PostedOctober 1, 2012
Customer avatar
hobbes9
fromChicago, IL, USA
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
I've had this mobo running for a few weeks now with Core i3, 8 gigs RAM and a cheap 1 gig graphics card (as others mentioned the board only has VGA input). It's working great so far. BIOS UI is nice and has some decent options. Everything seems to be running great for a standard budget build.
My only small complaint is that installation on the board is a little tight due to its small size. I know it's mATX, but it seems small even for that. I've got a cheap low profile gfx card in the x16 PCI slot and I'm having trouble squeezing anything in to the next PCI slot.
I ended up skipping the slot and installing my wifi card in the second slot to avoid contact or interference with the gfx card. I can't imagine trying to get a real active fan graphics card on here without losing both of other PCI slots.
But if you don't mind VGA and have an integrated graphics CPU, or you don't plan on adding I/O components, the size factor shouldn't be a problem at all. I would definitely recommend this board to anyone looking for a run of the mill budget PC build.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Gigabyte GA-H61M-DS2 LGA 1155 H61 mATX Intel Motherboard
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great motherboard!

PostedAugust 14, 2012
Customer avatar
collegekid
fromMinnesota, USA
Age:Under 18
Gender:Male
This thing is absolutely perfect for any regular build. I got it for 43 bucks, and got the $20 rebate. I am always impressed with the quality of gigabyte products even though they usually seem to be less expensive than other brands. This thing is awesome for the price. The BIOS is really awesome too. It has a GUI that looks and operates nicely. Only a VGA video output however. So if you wanted a different output, you might want to consider buying an inexpensive video card if you just want to use it for regular stuff.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Gigabyte GA-H61M-DS2 LGA 1155 H61 mATX Intel Motherboard
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Budget 1155

PostedJune 25, 2012
Customer avatar
hollywood406
fromTaylor, MI
Gender:Male
I bought this mobo for my wife to surf and play games. I paired this with a simple G530 celeron cpu and 4gb of Kingston memory which seems to work with everything.
No problems booting or loading the OS. Love the UEFI BIOS, my first look at it. Very simple to navigate and configure.
Mobo is TINY! I thought it was a mini itx at first. There are only (2) 4-pin fan headers but the BIOS supports fan controls for each. Northbridge runs warm, 43c according to Easy Tune, and it's hot to the touch when running but should be OK. I put a fan next to it and the temp dropped to 30c. My mobo was out of the case for testing so a case fan should help that run a little cooler.
You get 2 sata cables and plain, unadorned I/O shield so no bling there. One strange thing, the utilities on the included DVD would not load. When I tried to install, I got a message saying that they "weren't Gigabyte utilities"?!??! Huh? Loaded fine when I got the latest drivers/utilities from the website. I also updated the BIOS to version F7 with @BIOS. I don't know why everyone bashes that utility, I've used it several times without any problems.
Excellent product Gigabyte! Well done!
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Gigabyte GA-H61M-DS2 LGA 1155 H61 mATX Intel Motherboard
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great board!

PostedMay 5, 2012
Customer avatar
simflyr
fromMichigan
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Bought this to go with an i5 and 6850 and 8GB RAM to play some games, FSX and XP9, and am very happy with it. Does everything I need; I left everything stock settings, I don't need to OC. Everything installed and recognized, no problems. BIOS seems ok for me, I can access, no problem. Tons of features for the price, I was impressed. Even after playing for hours, system's rock solid, system temp 29C. Like others said, if you add a video card, it may cover the SATA slots. I bought two left angle SATA cables, so the cables exit off the board, piece of cake. Just note the orientation you need. I got a great deal with this board paired with the i5, and am more than happy with it, again, it does all I need, and more. Would buy again! Great job Gigabyte!
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Gigabyte GA-H61M-DS2 LGA 1155 H61 mATX Intel Motherboard
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Cheap LGA 1155

PostedMay 1, 2012
Customer avatar
MonkeyPaw
fromMissouri
This board is tiny, even for a mATX. It does, however, work as expected. I combined it with an i3 2125, and it worked right out of the box on Ubuntu 12.04 (works with Linux). Be warned, all you get is a VGA-out for your monitor connections. If you need another display output, then you'll need to add a graphics card.
My only issues are that the sound makes a popping noise when the sound chip initializes. This happens at boot and at resume from S3. Otherwise the sound works just fine. The other problem was flashing the BIOS. While Gigabyte boasts of @BIOS for flashing, the latest version of the BIOS could not be flashed this way, as the flash tool was apparently too old. Instead, I had to install Windows temporarily and do the flash from there (which can be a bit more nerve wracking).
Otherwise, it's a nice little no frills board. About as cheap as you can go for Intel.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Gigabyte GA-H61M-DS2 LGA 1155 H61 mATX Intel Motherboard
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Decent Board with one issue

PostedApril 9, 2012
Customer avatar
sddevdev
Board works fine using the default setup. If you add a PCIe video card, you will NOT be able to access the Boot Up options or the BIOS screens.
I updated to the latest BIOS (Ver F7) and this issue still persists.
You will need to remove the video card to access the BIOS or switch to a different boot partition.
If anyone finds a solution please post it here so I can correct this review.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Gigabyte GA-H61M-DS2 LGA 1155 H61 mATX Intel Motherboard
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best board!!!!!!

PostedMarch 5, 2012
Customer avatar
Gazilla25
fromNew jersey
Age:Under 18
Gender:Male
This board is sooooo goooooddddd!!!!! bought this board got a ati 6850 and a core i5 2400 8gb of ram and it suppotrs it all......it even has s3 sleep mode meaning the whole computer basically shuts down. Only thing u wont like is the sata ports are behind the graphics card so u need right anglesata cables but thats no problem. This board is worth every penny if u can get it get it fast.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Gigabyte GA-H61M-DS2 LGA 1155 H61 mATX Intel Motherboard
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good micro motherboard

PostedJanuary 26, 2012
Customer avatar
Mr.X.
Very easy install. excellent value and performance. Basic board. Zorin OS 5.2 running very fast.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.